Competitions for Children and Young People

Logo of Cook It: Young Cook of the Year CompetitionLogo of Write It: Young Food Writer of the Year Competition 

Write It 2015 Call for Entries

The hunt is now on for a talented young food writer, thanks to the Guild of Food Writers’ annual Write It competition. Aimed at aspiring young writers who have a real interest in food and writing, the competition is open to anyone aged 11 to 18.
The Write It competition invites entrants to submit a non-fiction feature of around 750 words on any food-related subject. It could be as simple as a descriptive piece based on a person or place that inspired their interest in food, a restaurant review, or a report on a visit to a food fair, farmers' market or food shop. Alternatively it could be a campaigning article on any aspect of food that interests, excites or frustrates the young writer.

All three of the judges for 2014 are distinguished members of the Guild of Food Writers: Tim Hayward, food writer and broadcaster; Nicola Graimes, food writer and author; and Karen Barnes, Editor of delicious. magazine. They are looking for impressive writing skills as well as understanding and knowledge of the chosen subject.

The Food and Cooking of Malaysia and Singapore
The Food and Cooking of Malaysia and Singapore
by Ghillie Basan
More Books